Thursday, January 23, 2020

2020 Nerds of a Feather Hugo Awards Recommended Reading, Part 3: Individual Categories

Welcome to the third part of our presentation of the Nerds of a Feather 2020 Hugo Award Longlist (see parts 1 & 2). Today we take a look at the categories recognizing individuals for their body of work during 2019:  Editor (Short and Long Form), Professional Artist, Fan Artist, Fan Writer, and the Astounding Award for Best New Writer

As before, we here at 'nerds of a feather, flock together' are presenting a collective longlist of potential Hugo nominees that we think are worthy of your consideration. These selections represent the spectrum of tastes, tendencies, and predilections found among our group of 11 writers.

As a reminder, this list should not at all be considered comprehensive. There are some truly outstanding editors, writers, and artists who will not make our longlist because they did not produce enough work for non-paying / non-professional venues, did not write enough genre focused work, or for the very simple reason that we are not just familiar with what work they did produce during 2019. We encourage you to think of this as a list of candidates to consider alongside works which you are already familiar, nothing more and nothing less. 

In an effort at brevity (you may scoff) and perhaps at propriety, for these categories we have decided to simply list the individuals we are collectively recommending as part of the longlist, rather than detailing why each person listed below is awesome.

Finally, in the interests of being transparent, while it may worth noting that we, the writers of Nerds of a Feather are individually eligible for the Fan Writer category; because it is a conflict of interest, it would not appropriate to include any of us on our formal longlist (feel free to check out our Awards Eligibility post, though).

Editor, Long
Nobody. But, we recommend that when you put together your final nominating ballot that you also look at who the editors were for your Best Novel selections and consider them for nomination for Editor, Long Form

Editor Short
John Joseph Adams (Lightspeed, Nightmare)
Scott H. Andrews (Beneath Ceaseless Skies)
Neil Clarke (Clarkesworld)
Michael Matheson, Andrew Wilmot, & Chinelo Onwualu (Anathema)
Vanessa Rose Phin (Strange Horizons)
Julia Rios (Fireside Fiction)
Jonathan Strahan (Mission Critical,, Publishing)
Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damien Thomas (Uncanny)
Sean Wallace & Silvia Moreno-Garcia (The Dark)
LaShawn M. Wanak (GigaNotoSaurus)
Troy L. Wiggins and DaVaun Sanders (FIYAH)

Professional Artist
Tommy Arnold
Geneva Benton
David Curtis
Galen Dara
Maurizio Manzieri
Stephan Martiniere 
John Picacio
Greg Ruth 
Yuko Shimizu
Will Staehle
Magali Villeneuve
Alyssa Winans

Fan Artist 
Iain J. Clarke
Caleb Hosalla
Ariela Housman 
Jemima Malkki 
Elise Matthesen
Layla Rose
Anna Steinbauer

Fan Writer
Emmet Asher-Perrin (previously writing as Emily Asher-Perrin)

Astounding Award for Best New Writer
Tomi Adeyemi (Children of Blood and Bone)
Rena Barron (Kingdom of Souls)
K.A. Doore (The Perfect Assassin)
Isaac Fellman (The Breath of the Sun)
R.F. Kuang (The Poppy War)
Paul Krueger (Steel Crow Saga)
Jenn Lyons (The Ruin of Kings)
Alexandra Rowland (A Conspiracy of Truths)
Nibedita Sen (short fiction)
Tasha Suri (Empire of Sand)
Emily Tesh (Silver in the Wood)
Amelie Wen Zhao (Blood Heir)