Wednesday, January 31, 2024

2024 Nerds of a Feather Hugo Award Recommend Reading, Part 3: Individual Categories

Welcome to the third part of our presentation of the Nerds of a Feather 2024 Hugo Award Longlist. Today we take a look at the categories recognizing individuals for their body of work during 2023:  Editor (Short and Long Form), Professional Artist, Fan Artist, Fan Writer, and the Astounding Award for Best New Writer.

As before, we here at 'nerds of a feather, flock together' are presenting a collective longlist of potential Hugo nominees that we think are worthy of your consideration. These selections represent the spectrum of tastes, tendencies, and predilections found among our group of 16 writers.

As a reminder, this list should not at all be considered comprehensive. There are some truly outstanding editors, writers, and artists who will not make our longlist because we couldn't confirm they produced enough qualifying work, because the work they do is not genre-focused, or for the very simple reason that we are not just familiar with what they did during 2023. We as a collective each have our own spheres of interest, and of course spheres of lack of awareness, and so a shorter category may simply represent an area where, for works put out in 2023, we are just not as knowledgeable as other people recommending may be. It is certainly not a reflection on the strength or weakness of it as a category more broadly.

We encourage you to think of this as a list of candidates to consider alongside works with which you are already familiar, nothing more and nothing less. In addition, while we have done our best to check the eligibility of everything here, some of these categories have eligibility requirements that can be hard to triangulate from an outside perspective. If you think we've made any errors in our categorisation, please get in touch.

Finally, in the interests of being transparent, while it may worth noting that we, the writers of Nerds of a Feather, are individually eligible for the Fan Writer category; because it is a conflict of interest, it would not be appropriate to include any of us on our formal longlist (feel free to check out our upcoming Awards Eligibility post, though).

Nerds of a Feather 2024 Recommendation List Series:

Part 1: Fiction Categories (Novel, novella, novelette, short story, series, Lodestar Award for best Young Adult)

Part 2: Visual Work Categories (graphic story, dramatic presentation, video game)

Part 3: Individual Categories (editor, fan writer, professional artist, fan artist, Astounding Award for Best New Writer)

Part 4: Institutional Categories (related work, semiprozine, fanzine, fancast)

Editor, Long Form
As a general rule, we do not have a range of specific names for this section, but we recommend that when you put together your final nominating ballot that you also look at who the editors were for your Best Novel selections and consider them for Editor, Long Form. If you would like some suggestions of novels, do feel free to look at Part 1 of our Recommended Reading, which includes many of our favourites from 2023.

With that said, we do want to recognize Francesca Barbini from Luna Press Publishing, who is doing some fantastic work local to this year's Worldcon.

Editor, Short Form
dave ring

Professional Artist
Tommy Arnold (Luca's Legs / cover art, The Faithless by C.L. Clark)
Anna and Elena Balbusso (cover art, Menewood by Nicola Griffith)
Dan Dos Santos (cover art, Warrior of the Wind by Suyi Davies Okungbowa)
Taras Kopansky (cover art, Embroidered Worlds)
Paul Lewin (cover art, Uncanny 55)
Cathy Kwan (cover art, A Necessary Chaos by Brent Lambert)
Radiante Mozzarelle (cover art, Mortal Follies by Alexis Hall)
Feifei Ruan (cover art, The Water Outlaws by S.L. Huang)
Sparth (cover art, The Jinn-Bot of Shantiport by Samit Basu)
Jim Tierney (cover art, Shigidi and the Brass Head of Obalufon by Wole Talabi)
Alyssa Winans (cover art, Mammoths at the gates by Nghi Vo)

Fan Artist
Carly A-F 

Fan Writer
Emmet Asher-Perrin
Doug Berry
Gautam Bhatia
Alex Brown
Elias Eells
Ersatz Culture (John Smith) [editor's note: crossed off as requested by writer]
Camestros Felapton
Sarah Gailey
Jenny Hamilton
Maria Haskins
Aidan Moher
Abigail Nussbaum
Runalong Womble
Alasdair Stuart
A.C. Wise

Best New Writer (Astounding Award)
H.B. Asari