Wednesday, February 1, 2023

2023 Nerds of a Feather Hugo Awards Recommended Reading, Part 3: Individual Categories

Welcome to the third part of the Nerds of a Feather 2023 Hugo Award Longlist. Today we take a look at the categories recognizing individuals for their body of work during 2022: Editor (Short and Long Form), Professional Artist, Fan Artist, Fan Writer, and the Astounding Award for Best New Writer

These selections represent the spectrum of tastes, tendencies, and predilections found among our group of 13 writers. As a reminder, this list should not at all be considered comprehensive.

There are some truly outstanding editors, writers, and artists who will not make our longlist because we couldn't confirm they produced enough qualifying work, because the work they do is not genre-focused, or for the very simple reason that we were not just familiar with what they did during 2022.

We encourage you to think of this as a list of candidates to consider alongside works which you are already familiar, nothing more and nothing less. In addition, while we have done our best to check the eligibility of everything here, some of these categories (*cough* pro and fan artist *cough*) have eligibility requirements that can be hard to triangulate from an outside perspective. If you think we've made any errors in our categorisation, please get in touch.

Finally, in the interests of being transparent, while it may worth noting that we, the writers of Nerds of a Feather are individually eligible for the Fan Writer category; because it is a conflict of interest, it would not appropriate to include any of us on our formal longlist (feel free to check out our Awards Eligibility post, though).

Nerds of a Feather 2023 Recommendation List Series:

Editor: Short Form
Al-Ayad, Djibril
Andrews, Scott

Clarke, Neil

Datlow, Ellen

DianaAbasi, Iquo and Maze Nwonwu
Ekpeki, Oghenechovwe Donald
Garrett, Shawn, and Alex Hofelich
Gidney, Craig L.
Inskip, Katherine
Knight, Zelda
Lafferty, Mur and Valerie Valdes
Parker, Chelle
ring, dave
Sorg, Arley and Christie Yant
Strahan, Jonathan
Thomas, Lynne M. and Michael Damian Thomas
Thomas, Sheree Renee
Wanak, LaShawn
Williams, Sheila
Wood, Eleanor R. and Shingai Njeri Kagunda

Editor: Long Form
As always, we do not have specific names for this section, but we recommend that when you put together your final nominating ballot that you also look at who the editors were for your Best Novel selections and consider them for nomination for Editor, Long Form.

Professional Artist (Example of Eligible Work)

Tommy Arnold (Nona the Ninth Cover)
Rovina Cai
Pablo Gerado Camacho (Moon Witch, Spider King Cover)
Galen Dara (Uncanny Issue 44)
Dan Dos Santos (Soul Taken Cover)
Micah Epstein (The Oleander Sword Cover)
Erika Hollice (Apparition Lit 2022 Covers)
Sija Hong (A Magic Steeped in Poison Cover)
Kuri Huang (Daughter of the Moon Goddess US Cover)
Manzi Jackson (Africa Risen Cover)
Kathleen Jennings (Flight by Angela Slatter Illustrations)
Paul Lewin (Uncanny Issue 45 Cover)
Carson Daniel Lowmiller (Legends and Lattes US Cover)
Leo Nickolls (Speaking Bones UK Cover)
John Picacio (Fevered Star Cover)
Kittichai Rueangchaichan (Razaras) (Dreams Greater than Heartbreak US Cover)
Greg Ruth (Akata Woman Cover)
Alyssa Winans (Into the Riverlands Cover)

Fan Artist
Marika Bailey
Aimee Campbell
N'Kai Delauter
Matthew Dunn
Lorelei Esther
Jessica Holmes
Iryna Iaroshenko
Dante Luiz
Richard Man
Phoenix Data Art
Laya Rose
Alison Scott
España Sheriff
Matthew Spencer
Maxine Vee

Fan Writer
Emmet Asher-Perrin
Oren Ashkenazi
Graeme Barber
Chris Barkley
Alex Brown
Cora Buhlert
John Bull

Jenny Hamilton
Marissa Lingen
Aidan Moher
Darren Mooney
Charles Payseur
Jason Sanford
Alasdair Stuart
A.C. Wise
Runalong Womble

Best New Writer (Astounding Award)
Chelsea Abdullah
Emily Bergslien
Emma Mieko Candon
Kel Coleman
Maya Deane
Dominique Dickey
Cristina Fernandez
Gigi Ganguly
Ai Jiang
Harry Josephine Giles
Ariel Marken Jack (previously published as M.A. Blanchard)
Naseem Jamnia
Judy I. Lin
Or Luca
Everina Maxwell
Sue Lynn Tan
Kat Weaver
Xiran Jay Zhao