Thursday, July 6, 2023

Thank You

The finalists for the 2023 Hugo Awards have been announced and for a staggering sixth time nerds of a feather, flock together is among the shortlisted fanzines.

Friends, we do not have to tell you just how big of an honor this is but this is an immense honor. Nerds of a Feather was so incredibly fortunate to have won the Hugo for Best Fanzine two years ago and to be considered once more is just unbelievable. We know that we are just one small part of an extraordinary community of fans who carry our genre's conversation across blogs, zines, newsletters and all forms of social media, and we're incredibly honored to have our contribution recognized in this way.

Nerds of a Feather exists and is what it is because of the work of our flock of editors and writers: Adri Joy, Arturo Serrano, Dean Richard, Elizabeth Fitzgerald, Joe Del Franco, Joe Sherry, Michael Newhouse-Bailey, Paul Weimer, Phoebe Wagner, Roseanna Pendlebury, Sean Dowie, The G, and Vance Kotrla. This collective has, day in and day out, delivered excellence in genre writing and we could not be prouder of this team (and of our new writers introduced in 2023 - Alex Wallace, Ann Michelle Harris, Chris Garcia, Clara Cohen, and Haley Zapal).

We would like to give a special thanks to our readers and supporters within the community. Without you, we never make it here - not even once. We would certainly never have received a Hugo Award without you. Thank you. Thank you for nominating nerds of a feather, flock together. It means so much more than we can possibly express. It means everything.

We would also like to take this time to congratulate Haley Zapal for being a second time finalist for Best Fancast as part of Hugo, Girl. It is well deserved and we are so happy for her as well as for Lori, Amy, and Kevin. Likewise, congratulations to Chris Garcia and our friends at Journey Planet for their fanzine nomination - as always, we are honoured to share a category with you all.

-Joe, Adri, Roseanna, Arturo, Paul, Vance, & The G