Wednesday, February 1, 2017

2017 Nerds of a Feather Hugo Award Longlist, Part 3: Individual Categories

Welcome to the third part of our presentation of the Nerds of a Feather 2017 Hugo Award Longlist (see parts 1 & 2). Today we take a look at the categories recognizing individuals for their body of work during 2016:  Editor (Short and Long Form), Professional Artist, Fan Artist, Fan Writer, and the John W Campbell Award for Best New Writer

As before, we here at 'nerds of a feather, flock together' are presenting a collective longlist of potential Hugo nominees that we think are worthy of your consideration. These selections represent the spectrum of tastes, tendencies, and predilections found among our group of 13 writers.

As a reminder, this list should not at all be considered comprehensive. There are some truly outstanding editors, writers, and artists who will not make our longlist because they did not produce enough work for non-paying / non-professional venues, did not write enough genre focused work, or for the very simple reason that we are not just familiar with what work they did produce during 2015. We encourage you to think of this as a list of candidates to consider alongside works which you are already familiar, nothing more and nothing less. 

In an effort at brevity (you may scoff) and perhaps at propriety, for these categories we have decided to simply list the individuals we are collectively recommending as part of the longlist, rather than detailing why each person listed below is awesome.

Finally, in the interests of being transparent, while it may worth noting that we, the writers of Nerds of a Feather are individually eligible for the Fan Writer category; because it is a conflict of interest, it would not appropriate to include any of us on our formal longlist. However, we would like to make a note of the work our own Charles Payseur has done both here as well at Quick Sip Reviews. Because of that conflict of interest, we are not including him on our list, but we do encourage anyone so inclined to take a look at his work and decide for themselves. Charles is also eligible for the Campbell Award. If you are so inclined, a sample of his work is available here.

Editor: Short Form

John Joseph Adams (Lightspeed, Nightmare, What the #@&% Is That?)
Scott H. Andrews (Beneath Ceaseless Skies)
Neil Clarke (Clarkesworld)
Lee Harris ( / Publishing)
Rashida J. Smith (GigaNotoSaurus)
Jonathan Strahan (Bridging Infinity, Drowned Worlds,,  etc)
Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damien Thomas (Uncanny
Ann VanderMeer (The Big Book of Science Fiction)
Wendy Wagner (Lightspeed, Nightmare)

Editor: Long Form
Nobody. But, we recommend that when you put together your final nominating ballot that you also look at who the editors were for your Best Novel selections and consider them for nomination for Editor, Long Form

Professional Artist
Julie Dillon (Imagined Realms)
Likhain (The Towers of the Moon)
Fiona Staples (Saga)
Ashley Witter (Bloodthirsty, Squarriors)

Fan Artist
Likhain (more) (site)
Kristina Tsenova (some)

Fan Writer
Nina Allan
Megan AM
Rob Bedford 
Cora Buhlert 
Rachel Cordasco 
Sarah Gailey
Brandon Kempner
Natalie Luhrs
Bridget McKinney
Maureen Kincaid-Speller
Aidan Moher 
Abigail Nussbaum
Mark Oshiro
Bogi Tak√°cs
Adam Whitehead
Renay Williams

[Editor's note: I would have nominated Jonathan McCalmont, as he is--year in, year out--my favorite fan writer. But he has also stated that he does not want to be nominated for any awards. Out of respect, we will not be nominating him, but note that we otherwise would have. -G]

John W Campbell Award for Best New Writer*
*(Not a Hugo, but Totally a Hugo) 

Nin Harris
Jackie Hatton
C.A. Higgins
Cassandra Khaw
S. Qiouyi Lu
Malka Older
Laurie Penny
Kelly Robson
Wole Talabi
K.B. Wagers

POSTED BY: Joe Sherry - Writer / Editor at Adventures in Reading since 2004. Nerds of a Feather contributor since 2015, editor since 2016. Minnesotan.